Hiring DUI Attorneys Morgantown WV to Prevent Harsh West Virginia DUI Penalties
Morgantown in Monongalia County, West Virginia is a city of 29,660 and 120,327 in the greater metropolitan area (2010 population estimates). The city is home to West Virginia University. You should enlist the services of DUI attorneys Morgantown WV because West Virginia has very harsh DUI penalties.
You need DUI attorneys because if the blood alcohol content or BAC is between 0.08% and 0.15% (which is the normal DUI charge) and it is your first offense, you face jail time of up to 6 months. You could also be fined between $100 and $500 and your driver’s license could be suspended for up to 6 months (this is reduced to 3 months if you complete DUI classes and by a further 15 days if you enroll into the state’s ignition interlock program).
If the BAC is above 0.15% (aggravated DUI), conviction could lead to jail time of up to 6 months, fines from $200 to $1,000, the suspension of your driver’s license for 45 days with mandatory participation in the state-mandated ignition interlock program for the next 9 months.
If you are below 21 and you are caught with BAC of between 0.02% and 0.08%, note that the fact that you are not supposed to be drinking under West Virginia laws means you will be charged with an offense, but there is no jail time. However, there is a fine of between $25 and $100 and the suspended of your license for 60 days or a month-30 days with participation in the state-mandated ignition interlock program for 5 of the following months.
For a second offender (within the past10 years), conviction for the Second Offense DUI charge comes with such penalties as up to 1 year in jail, fines of between $1,000 and $3,000, the suspension of your driver’s license for up to 1 year, and 2 years of mandatory participation in the state-mandated ignition interlock program.
If you commit a 3rd or subsequent offense DUI (again within 10 years), the state will charge you with Third or Subsequent Offense DUI. This is a felony under West Virginia laws and you therefore need DUI attorneys to represent you. If you are convicted, you face between 1 and 3 years in jail. You will be fined between $3,000 and $5,000, your driver’s license could be suspended for 1 year, and you will face 3 years of mandatory participation in the West Virginia ignition interlock program.
There are harsher penalties if the DUI results in injury or results in death and if there was a minor in the car. Note that although refusal to take the secondary chemical test is not an offense under West Virginia laws, it will lead to additional suspension of your driver’s license (with a harsh 10 year suspension if this happens again). DUI attorneys will fight the charges on your behalf in court. DUI attorneys Morgantown WV ensure you get off as easily as possible if you are convicted and they help you in the reinstatement of your driver’s license following suspension and after meeting the necessary requirements.
DUI Attorneys Morgantown WV You could do self-representation following arrest in Morgantown for DUI, but hiring DUI attorneys will help you avoid the harsh West Virginia DUI penalties.