Understanding Category 1 And 2 CME Credits

by | Sep 14, 2022 | Education

As a medical physician, you are required by law to maintain relevant licensures in the state or states where you practice. These licenses prove that you have the proper training and certification to offer medical assistance. To maintain your licensure, you need to meet various requirements, and one of them is participating in continuous medical education (CME).

CMEs are made to encourage medical physicians to stay up to date with the latest developments in their respective medical fields and improve their skills. You need CMEs to get certified as a medical practitioner and to get a membership in specific professional organizations. The American Medical Association (AMA) and the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) assign these credits, and they are categorized into 2 classes: CME category 1 and 2 credits. Here’s more on each type.

Category 1 CME credits

The American Medical Association Physician’s Recognition Award Category 1 Credit is one of the metrics that verifies you have participated in CME activities as required by the different licensing, crediting, and professional bodies.

The AMA PRA Category 1 credits are the most commonly accepted credits required for physicians and is the basis for receiving the AMA PRA award. You must participate in CME activities sponsored by CME providers accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Education (ACCME) or an ACCME-accredited medical society.

You can get this credit by participating in Free CME-sponsored events For Physician and their Assistants and completing all activity requirements. You can find out if an activity is AMA PRA certified by locating the AMA credit designation.

Category 2 credits

These credits are awarded for activities not certified for Category 1 credits. This means you have to self-claim and document the activity, its description, date, subject, and credits acquired. These activities must satisfy the AMA description of a CME and comply with ethics.

For Category 1 credit activities, you need a designation statement; however, for these credits, you cannot advertise the activity as qualifying or eligible for AMA PRA Category 2 credits.

Credits are participation based. An hour is equal to one AMA PRA Category 1 Credit. Credits claimed in 15-minute, or quarterly credit increments should be rounded to the nearest quarter.

Lastly, you cannot claim Category 2 Credits for any activities already claimed for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit.

Latest Articles



Similar Posts